Salary Commission

** The City of Liberty Lake is currently recruiting Salary Commission members. If you are interested, please fill out an application and return to the City of Liberty Lake. Attention: Salary Commission


The salary commission shall be composed of three (3) members appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the City Council. No member shall be an officer, official, or employee of the fo the City of Liberty Lake. 

Term of Appointment:

The regular term of office for a Liberty Lake Salary Commission member shall be four (4) years without compensation. Each member shall hold office until a successor is appointed and confirmed. 

a. Two members shall be appointed for a period of four (4) years; and 

b. One member shall be appointed for two (2) years. 

All subsequent appointments or reappointments shall be for a four (4) year term. No member of the commission shall be appointed to more than two (2) terms. Appointments may be made to complete and unexpired term in the event of a vacancy. 


It is the goal of the Salary Commission to base salaries of elected officials on realistic standards so that the elected officials may be paid according to the duties of their offices and so that citizens of the highest quality may be attracted to public service. The Salary Commission shall have the duty, at such intervals as determined by the commission , to review the salaries paid by the City to each elected City official. If after such review the Salary Commission determines that the salary paid to any elected City official should be increased or decreased, the commission shall file a written salary schedule with the City Clerk indicating the increase or decrease in salary. Salaries for City Council Members shall be uniform. Salary increases established by the Salary Commission shall be effective on the first pay period of the year following the decision of the commission. Salary decreases established by the Salary Commission shall become effective as to incumbent City elected officials at the commencement of their next subsequent term of office.